Staff and Board

Experts on energy and environmental policy The Pembina Institute is made up of engineers, scientists, analysts, MBAs and communication professionals working...

Experts on energy and environmental policy

The Pembina Institute is made up of engineers, scientists, analysts, MBAs, planners and communication professionals working throughout B.C., Alberta and Ontario. 

Many of our experts are available for speaking engagements.

Speaking energy for 30 years

Pembina Institute's Deputy Executive Director Simon Dyer

Book us for your next event

The Pembina Institute can provide keynote speakers for events or experts for small format presentations to corporate groups, associations, government or the public. From our broadly experienced executive director, Simon Dyer, to experts in the fields of renewable energy, energy efficiency, climate change, oilsands, liquified natural gas and transportation, we have speakers that inspire and educate with amazing insights and data.

Rates for senior staff are generally $2,000 to $5,000 plus expenses. We offer special rates for not-for-profits.

To book a speaker, email our Senior Manager, Strategic Communications.

Our Staff

Adam ThornProgram Director, Transportation
Alex BurtonCommunications Manager (on leave)
Ashley BodiguelManager, Operations & Records
Betsy AgarProgram Director, Buildings
Bhan GatkuothSenior Communications Lead
Binnu JeyakumarProgram Director, Electricity
Carolyn KimSenior Director, Communities & Decarbonization Group
Carson FongSenior Analyst, Business Renewables Centre-Canada
Cheryl De PaoliDirector, Strategic Partnerships
Chris Severson-BakerExecutive Director
Courtney SmithSenior Communications Lead
Dave LovekinProgram Director, Renewables in Remote Communities
Davis CarrSocial Media and Digital Communications Lead
Emily HeSenior Analyst
Eyab Al-AiniSenior Analyst
Grace BrownSenior Analyst
Hanneke BrooymansSenior Communications Lead
Hongyu XiaoSenior Analyst
Ian TheakerTechnical Director, Reframed Initiative
Jahanzaib MunirAccounts Payable Coordinator
Jan GorskiProgram Director, Oil & Gas
Janetta McKenzieSenior Analyst
Jason LamAnalyst
Jason WangSenior Analyst
Jennifer MenesesAssociate Director, Strategic Partnerships
Jessica McIlroySenior Analyst
John Van HamSenior Director, Industrial Decarbonization Group
Jorden DyeProgram Manager, Business Renewables Centre-Canada
Karen GarthSenior Communications Lead
Kendall AndersonManager, Gender & Equitable Transitions
Kerwin ClementeDirector, Finance & Operations
Laura HughesProgram Director, Equitable Transition (on leave)
Laurence MiallCommunications Manager
Lynne CouvesManager, Renewables in Remote Communities
Mary MargretAnalyst, Business Renewables Centre-Canada
Megan GordonSenior Analyst
Nadin AbuhalawehSenior Lead, Executive and Board
Nagwan Al-GuneidProgram Director, Business Renewables Centre-Canada (on leave)
Olga YasynskaManager, Finance
Paloma YrigoyenSenior Lead, Human Resources
Roberta FranchukSenior Technical Editor
Sabrina GroblerDeputy Director, Strategic Partnerships
Samantha WardAssociate Director, Strategic Partnerships
Samuel MinassieSalesforce Administrator and Data Lead
Scott MacDougallSenior Advisor
Shannon RossAdministrative Coordinator
Simon DyerDeputy Executive Director/Acting Communications Director
Tom-Pierre Frappé-SénéclauzeProgram Director, Buildings (on leave)
Will NoelAnalyst

Board of Directors

The Pembina Institute's Board of Directors provides governance, support and operational strategic direction for the organization. The board meets regularly throughout the year.

Our board comprises experienced and insightful professionals who bring to the table diverse perspectives on environmental priorities, business administration, and societal responsibility. Board members serve as volunteers.

Anne GiardiniTreasurer
Nancy WrightDirector
Rick BreenSecretary


John StoneHonorary Advisor, Climate Science


Our perspectives to your inbox.

The Pembina Institute endeavors to maintain your privacy and protect the confidentiality of any personal information that you may give us. We do not sell, share, rent or otherwise disseminate personal information. Read our full privacy policy.